Lionel Messi Has Won His Seventh Ballon d'Or Beating Robert Lewandowski To 2021 Men's Ballon d'Or

Lionel Messi has been named of the 2021 Ballon d'Or for a seventh time of his amazing career, as France Football named him the best player in 2021.

Argentina's legend has been awarded the best player in the world, with Robert Lewandowski coming in second.

After being named the best player on the planet for 2021, Messi is now 2 victories ahead of long-time rival Cristiano Ronaldo, who is currently at Manchester United team, where he has finished outside the top three for the first time since 2010.

Checkout the moment of Messi Receiving The 2021 Ballon d'Or Award below...

Why did Lionel Messi take home the Ballon d'Or?

Messi topped the list following another great year for club and country.

As of November 29, Messi has scored 41 goals and produced 17 assists in 56 games for club and country, leading Argentina to a lengthy Copa America victory in the summer.

Messi helped Barcelona by scoring 2 goals to win the Copa del Rey title during April, and in July, he also helped Argentina to secure the Copa America.

He has found the going a little harder at PSG, although he recorded 3 assists in his most recent outing versus Saint-Etienne and has 4 goals in 11 games.
Messi was the pre-event favourite, and he ended with 613 points. But Robert Lewandowski, who had another outstanding year after the prize was suspended due to COVID-19, wasn't far behind.

The Bayern Munich striker finished second with 580 points and was praised by Messi in his victory speech.

Jorginho was also a strong possibility, having won the Champions League and Euro 2020 with Italy and Chelsea, both.
He finished third with 460 points, above of Karim Benzema earning 239 points and his club colleague N'Golo Kante (186 points), who were fourth and fifth position.

Portugal Star Five-time winner of the Ballon d'Or Cristiano Ronaldo had to settle for sixth place and 178 points, 57 points more than Liverpool's star Mohamed Salah.

Kylian Mbappe reached the top 10 for the 4th time, but was upset when he learned he had ended ninth.

Messi was a clear favourite this year, beating Robert Lewandowski, Karim Benzema, and Jorginho to the prize, which he has already won in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, and 2019 - and the Paris Eiffel Tower was lighted in honour of his triumph in Paris on Monday evening.
Image: PA

Who has won the most Ballons d'Or?

Lionel Messi is the most awarded player in Ballon d'Or era.
Ten players have won the title more than once, Lionel Messi leading the way with seven.

Cristiano Ronaldo is next, having won it 5 times.

Player                    No. of Ballon d'Or Wins

Lionel Messi                       7

Cristiano Ronaldo              5

 Johan Cruyff                     3

Marco van Basten             3

Michel Platini                     3

Franz Beckenbaur             3

Ronaldo                             2

Alfredo Di Stefano             2

Kevin Keegan                    2

Karl Heinz-Rummenigge   2

How Many Ballons d'Or Awards Has Won By Lionel Messi In His Career?

After coming second in the standings following Cristiano in 2008, Messi won his 1st Ballon d'Or the one year later.

It was the first of four consecutive victories for the then-Barcelona superstar, as his competition with the Portuguese striker dominated top football.

He finished second behind Ronaldo in 2013 and 2014 before reclaiming the top spot the following year.

After that, he'd have to wait 4 years for his 5th prize, and then the 6th which came in 2019.

He's currently up to seventh in his career after adding to his total in 2021.
Image: PA

How Many Ballons d'Or Titles Has Won By Cristiano Ronaldo?

Ronaldo ranked top 3 for the very first time in 2007, but finished second to AC Milan legend Kaka that year.

Ronaldo's ambition came true 12 months later when he was awarded for the first time, but it would be another 5 years of near misses until he claimed his second trophy.

As his rivalry with Messi raged on, he did win the 2014, 2016, and 2017 Ballon d'Or awards.

The 2021 is the first year beyond the top 3 since 2010.

Year            Player            Club

2017            Ronaldo        Real Madrid

2016            Ronaldo        Real Madrid

2014            Ronaldo        Real Madrid

2013            Ronaldo        Real Madrid

2008            Ronaldo        Manchester United

Featured Image Credit: Image: PA
Previous Post Next Post