"It's Already Written That Lionel Messi Will Win The World Cup This Year"

Zlatan Ibrahimovic claimed Lionel Messi will win the FIFA World Cup 2022 in his final match as a player this year.

Argentina has back in Qatar, reaching the semi-finals despite having lost their first Group C match to Saudi Arabia.

Lionel Scaloni's team has overcome Mexico, Poland, Australia, and the Netherlands on their way to a last-four match with Croatia on Tuesday evening.

Messi has been instrumental for 'La Albiceleste' over the previous 3 weeks, scoring 4 goals and assisting on 2 more in 5 games.

On Friday's game against the Netherlands, setting up Nahuel Molina in the initial half and scored a penalty in the second.

Image Credit: Alamy

The PSG player then scored his penalty in the shootout, which Argentina won after a 2-2 tie in extra time.

Ibrahimovic has seen sufficient to know that a first World Cup victory is written for the seven-time Ballon d'Or winner.

According to Goal, the AC Milan star, who is presently sidelined with a significant knee injury, said: "I believe the winner has already been determined, and you guess who I mean. It's been written that Messi will win the title."

In 2009, Ibrahimovic spent an entire season with Barcelona along with Messi. Next a spat with manager Pep Guardiola, he moved AC Milan on loan the next year prior making the move permanent in 2K11.

Image Credit: Alamy

A World Cup victory would be the pinnacle of success for Messi, who won his first international title last summer.

Messi was instrumental in Argentina's Copa America victory, which he has described as [the most beautiful moment of his career.]

The 35-year-old viewed images of himself celebrating with the Copa America as fans sang his name for a Netflix documentary.

After watching video of supporters singing his name, the winger laughed, wiped his eyes, and admitted: [Wow. This was the most wonderful event that occurred to me in my sporting career.]

If Argentina defeats Croatia, the final will be played on Sunday between France and Morocco.

Argentina's previous World Cup victory was in 1986, led by Diego Maradona.

Featured Image Credit: Alamy
Post a Comment (0)
Previous Post Next Post